Well, it’s been awhile. In my absence I have explored, and nearly finished, the wonderful piece of work known as Leviathan Wakes by James S. A. Corey. My eagerness to watch The Expanse grows near the end of the book. More on that later. The most recent thing to pique my interest is the work of H.P. Lovecraft. Why I decided to pursue his work seems to escape me at the moment, but I am very grateful for deciding to puruse my interest.

I had heard of the Cthulhu mythos only a few times in the past and never gave it much thought. Unbeknownst to me, many horror games/movies that I had enjoyed in the past, were inspired by Lovecraft’s tales. The most memorable example of recent years that I could recall was in World of Warcraft. Aside the obvious similarities of the Warcraft and Lovecraft names, a particular story arch in the beloved MMO always interested me. Never being a “hardcore” player, I rarely saw the full development of these larger story arches but I nevertheless pursued more information on them via the internet. Needless to say, my desire to jump back into Azeroth has grown immensely over the last few weeks. The similarities between the mythos and the game may be another post for another time, but very much worth exploring.

Another piece of work that mirrors Lovecraftian horror is Bloodborne. Again, I won’t go into details on specifics, for there are many other videos and articles that can do it justice far better than I could. The recent appreciation of Lovecraft’s work has driven me more than anything has to complete Bloodborne. Hopefully some additional content content can emerge from a more recent, curious playthrough of the game.

In the meantime, I will continue to write here, as I feel a stronger desire to do so given my recent literary adventures. I’ll share more of the random content based on my many interests here, that you will someday grow to love as Ramen Bomb grows. May this post act as the beginning of some journal, a catalog of digital, culinary, and literary adventures. I cannot promise a schedule as to when this material will come, but I can promise a strong resolve to do so. If you find something you like down the road, feel free to let me know. Should you choose not to share, I can only hope you’ve enjoyed your stay.

Stay the course

-Gunnar

